Singles, doubles, triples and more.

seriously who came up with stitches called triple treble and such like, I was very confused. This is where the YouTube videos really helped and finally I had mastered a simple granny square, after learning how to start with circles and change to a square, I put them all together and voila a blanket:

Granny square blanket

How exciting aye, my first project complete. There is certainly room for improvements but as my first ever stitches are in her I am slightly proud.

If you wanted to learn how to do either of the two types of granny squares in this blanket the links are at the end of this post. They are really easy to follow.

Now onto my next project…

Till next time,  B x

Traditional granny square:  http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=JYq7kfdgbKQ

Circle centered granny square:  http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Se5wWKRiWBY&feature=fvwrel

2 thoughts on “Singles, doubles, triples and more.

  1. Hi

    I’m new to crochet and struggling to know which kind of wool and size hook to use, can you tell me what you use for this project please, as I’d love to start with something similar? Thanks.

    1. Hello, welcome to crochet!!
      For this I used double knitting yarn (sometimes abbreviated DK). Any wool or yarn that’s 3 or 4ply will work and I used a 4mm hook.
      I found wool and hook sizes the most confusing thing ever to get my head round. Although there are suggested yarn weights to use with certain hook sizes it is not a rule and you really can use anything you like, the results will just vary slightly and it’s a case of experimenting.
      Here is a link however to a chart giving you a guideline to work from (please note most patterns will however tell you what hook and wool to use) ….

      http://www.crochetspot.com/types-of-yarn-and-recommended-crochet-hooks-and-gauges/

      Good luck and if you have any other questions just let me know x

Leave a Reply

