Teething, working and baking

I am so acutely aware that I have been neglecting this blog lately.
As mentioned previously I just need more hours in the day!
I stated my new job this week, and this is my first time working since going on maternity leave. Needless to say this has left me very busy not only trying to settle in but also running around dropping my daughter off and picking her up plus all the usual daily routines.
Having been a stay at home mum for a little while now I can understand that it is definitely not the easy option and keeps you very busy but having gone back to work I suddenly have a massive appreciation for other mums out there who have had to return to work as it can be quite exhausting and require super impressive organisational skills, oh and don’t forget timekeeping.
Having said that I have had a fantastic first week and am thoroughly enjoying being back in the work place and having adult conversations.

Working all week coupled with the fact that Miss P has only had 2 of the 6 teeth I mentioned before were coming through, actually appear has left me far to tired to even stay awake let alone pick up my hook and yarn.
I cannot wait till this teething is over as she has really been suffering and it’s a nightmare trying to keep her happy and fully rested. We have tried all combinations of calpol, teething gel and teething granules, but I suppose at the end of the day if 6 are going to come through at once there will always be a certain amount of discomfort.

Today however is a whole different story, I should confess that I am a massive foodie… I love food in all shapes and sizes and love cooking or baking (providing I have the time). So today, I took the opportunity to set to baking, as my lovely other half kept an eye on the little madam.
I couldn’t decide what to make so I made a few!
Firstly I set about some devil’s chocolate cupcakes…

20130907-055239 PM.jpg
These are terribly delicious bit also incredibly rich, it is a chocolate sponge with chocolate chips topped with a chocolate fudge frosting and more chocolate chips for decoration.

While these were cooling I made a tray of super sticky brownies…

20130907-055442 PM.jpg
Nothing too fancy here just a basic brownie recipe that makes lovely gooey brownies and then a little dusting of icing sugar on top.

Lastly I made a batch of red velvet stacked cupcakes….

20130907-055609 PM.jpg
I sandwiched cupcakes together to look like mini sponge cakes and then topped with most buttercream frosting and a light dusting of edible glitter (I adore a bit if sparkle).

I will be taking half of this mass bake into work on Monday as a slightly late celebration of my birthday last weekend and then hoping the boyfriend eats most of the rest to save me gaining a stone myself 😊

B xx

Leave a Reply

