Cupcake Teapot holder

I found a gorgeous pattern for a cupcake garland (this one right here) and it gave me the inspiration to make a cupcake teapot holder as part of a present for a friend.

cupcake

I used step 1-3 of Twinkie Chan’s pattern but then I added the following:

Row 4: ch3 then dc in the same st. 1dc in the next 2 st’s then 2dc in the following st. repeat along row (24) Turn.

Row 5: ch3 and dc in same st. 1dc in the next 3 st’s, then 2dc in the following st. Repeat along row (30) Turn.

Row 6: ch3 and dc in the same st. 1dc in the next 4 st’s, then 2dc in the following st. Repeat along row (36) Turn.

Row 7: ch3 and dc in same st. 1dc in the next 5 st’s, then 2dc in the following st. Repeat along row (42) Turn.

Row 8: ch3 and dc in same st. 1dc in the next 6 st’s, then 2dc in the following st. Repeat along row (48). Finish off and weave in ends.

I then referred back to Twinkie Chan to make the scalloped edging but I just did extras, so whereas she did 4 scallops I did 7 as seen in my picture. That’s just what worked for me and the size of my cupcake.

Then I made the ‘cake’ section again following Twinkie Chan by starting in the 2nd to last dc with a sc, *then skip a st, 2dc in the dip of the scallop, skip a stitch, sc then sc in the next 2 stitches* then repeat along the whole row from the *Β The picture on the link I posted above explains this really well so if you are confused check it out.

I obviously did more rows for the ‘cake’ section as my cupcake is bigger so what I found worked best was to do a row with a decrease then 2 rows with the same amount of stitches along, then a row with a decrease then 2 more rows with the same amount of stitches etc etc until I was happy.

Lastly I finished the sides of the cake section with a row of sc’s as the edging to neaten it up slightly and made a hanging loop which was made by ch25, insert hook in 2nd from hook and then sc24. Tie off and attach to cupcake.

Finish the cake with a little cherry and some ‘sprinkles’ that were sewn on.

close up

Here is a picture of the original Twinkie Chan cupcake next to my teapot holder cupcake…

cupcakes

This is so pretty and the second picture shows more accurately how soft the colours actually were on this piece.

B x

Leave a Reply

