A few new skills

Its autumn and officially my favourite time of the year. I love it when the days get colder and the nights get darker. It brings forward the best thoughts of wrapping up in a warm blanket, shutting out the cold and settling down with a large mug of hot chocolate. Outside everything is orange, red and brown and covered in frost (or even better..snow!) plus HALLOWEEN!

I’ve been super busy since I last posted, mainly trying to build up listings and stock for my Etsy store but also working on some new items and new skills.

Some recent crochet works include; hedgehogs, cupcakes, stockings, snowflakes, toadstools, mini christmas trees and many many more!

Crochet makes
Crochet makes
Christmas crochet makes
Christmas crochet makes

As the title of this post suggests I have also been trying my hand at a few new skills. I follow an incredibly talented lady who runs Paper Panda on Facebook. If you haven’t heard of them she makes he most fantastic pieces by cutting paper and she sells beginner kits for those wanting to give it a go, and me being me I decided to give it a go and ordered the kit. It really is fantastic and contains literally everything you could need to get started.

Here are a few of my attempts, some are Paper Panda and the rest are from SLS Creative who also do some templates.

Stars cant shine..
Stars cant shine..
Stars cant shine..
Stars cant shine..
Little Star...
Little Star…
Little Star...
Little Star…
Celebrate
Celebrate
Celebrate
Celebrate
Little Bird
Little Bird
Dream
Dream
Dream
Dream
Happy Birthday
Happy Birthday
Love
Love
Twinkle Twinkle
Twinkle Twinkle
Twinkle Twinkle
Twinkle Twinkle
Second Chance
Second Chance

I’ve had lots of fun making these and I’ve already planned to frame a couple for Miss P’s bedroom but all this work inspired me to create my own design and get it all framed up. This is going to be a gift for someone special, hopefully she likes it.

Mary Poppins papercut quote
Mary Poppins papercut quote
Mary Poppins papercut quote
Mary Poppins papercut quote
Mary Poppins papercut quote
Mary Poppins papercut quote

I got the frame for only around ยฃ4 from Wilkinsons and it was a plain rough wood so I decided to paint it with a matt chalk paint in white and then sand it to give it a slightly distressed shabby chic look. I love the fact that shadows are cast on the backing card.

I’ve also been busy trying to organise the many many presents I have to buy for both November and December. Regular followers will remember I mentioned last year that in addition to Christmas I also have 5 birthdays for my Sisters, Daughter, Mum and Nan to get so I like to get a head start. I am still making gifts this year but not quite as many as last time so I look forward to showing you the ones I can as and when they are gifted.

B xx

Leave a Reply

