New Year, New Products

A belated Happy New Year to all you lovely followers!

I have been busy working on so many lovely new patterns and building up my collection lately. I was asked by a friend before Christmas if I could make so baby hats for her to give as presents, and I was very excited to get started. She knew what kind of hats she wanted and had seen patterns on Etsy so I decided to give them a go, however I have to admit the patterns were incredibly confusing and seemed to be missing parts so in the end I decided to give up and work it out myself. Thankfully they were pretty straight forward and after not too long I had finished two adorable hats.

The first was a sleeping owl hat in soft shades of blue and green. I used thick 100% cotton yarn which worked up so quickly and feels incredibly soft.

Sleeping owl baby hat
Sleeping owl baby hat

I decided to give this hat another go in slightly different colours and hence the winking owl hat was born. I still used the 100% cotton but opted for cream on the bottom instead.

Winking Owl Baby Hat
Winking Owl Baby Hat

The second hat was a little bear hat, unfortunately this pattern was even worse than the first one and the measurements just made no sense so I resorted back to the pattern I had made for the Owl and then worked out the ears. I stuck with the same cotton yarn for this one too as I love how quickly it works up and I like how soft it is, which is just perfect for a babies head.

Little Bear Baby Hat
Little Bear Baby Hat

Next time I will probably move the years just slightly further round but I still think it looks just too cute! I am hoping to get the pattern for these hats written up properly so keep an eye out for it shortly.

At the same time I was in the process of making a cowl for my Mum as her Christmas present. I knew I wanted it to be thick and chunky but also not to rough that it would be uncomfortable to wear so I opted for King Cole super chunky in Graphite.

Scallop Edge Cowl
Scallop Edge Cowl

Again this cowl worked up so quickly with such a thick yarn and using a scallop stitch it has a lovely pattern and scalloped edging along the bottom. I finished it off with a coconut shell button to contract against the soft grey colour of the yarn.

Scallop Edge Cowl - close up
Scallop Edge Cowl – close up

I have so many more ideas running round my head at the moment that I have set myself a challenge for this year to try and complete 1 new crochet item and 1 new crafting project each month in the hope of getting them out of the idea notepad and into the world.

These items are now listed in my Etsy shop should you want to have a nosey 🙂

B x

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Products

Leave a Reply

