Exciting Times

Its been a super busy month so far. I have signed up to do my first ever craft stall at a schools summer carnival near where I live and although the majority of my items are made or order or bespoke I still want the stall to look really full and well stocked so people can see an example of what they are ordering, plus whoever stopped at a sad and lonely empty stall! This means I have literally had to spend every spare minute crocheting and cutting to build up stock to take!

In the process I have developed a few favourite makes and some new ideas that will definitely be making it onto the Etsy shop!

These owl hats are a massive favourite, they are so quick to work up and just look adorable. I also love how different they look depending on the style of eyes of colour combinations you choose!
I did originally buy a pattern to make these but I just couldn’t get on with it so I ended up writing my own. I keep meaning to write it up and once I get past the fair I will set myself some time to do so.

Awake Owl Baby Hat
Awake Owl Baby Hat
Winking Owl Baby Hat
Winking Owl Baby Hat
Sleeping & Awake Owls
Sleeping & Awake Owls

The best thing about the pattern is that the hat itself doesn’t change so it forms the basis for the million and one ideas I have in my head to make other cute little creatures. Including this Bunny hat! A friend asked me to make it for her as a gift to her new nephew.

Bunny Baby Hat
Bunny Baby Hat

I’ve also been adapting my baby shoe pattern to allow for a few more design options, resulting in this summery creation.

Flower baby shoes
Flower baby shoes

All this crocheting lead to some rather depleted yarn supplies and a mad dash to the local craft store. Sadly they did not supply the drops cotton I was after but I did pick up some Hayfield acrylic in a mix of cotton candy colours which was just too fabulous to leave behind. I decided to use it to make a large granny square which has since become a baby lovey.

Hayfield Granny Square
Hayfield Granny Square

With lots still left over I wanted to make another lovey but with a different pattern so I gave the moss stitch a bit of a go….

Moss Stitch
Moss Stitch

… but I added a twist. I did 4 rows of SC (UK DC) and then 4 rows of DC (UK TR)

Stitches up close
Stitches up close

I did manage a little down time and we had a lovely family day out. Can you guess where we went?

Lego Policeman
Lego Policeman

There is no sign of me slowing down just yet as there is still so much to get done.
One thing all this crocheting as highlighted is that I desperately need to upgrade my hooks! I am still using the original metal set I brought when I was first learning and they just don’t quite cut it when I am spending hours a day with them in my hands. If anyone has some recommendations of ergonomic sets please do let me know. I’ve seen some around but there is lots to choose from.

B xx

4 thoughts on “Exciting Times

      1. I did quite a few craft fairs a couple of years ago but it was during the recession and folks weren’t spending. I enjoyed the days though. Have you had a run through with how your table will look. Do you have a table cloth and some props so you can display things at different levels? A bowl of sweets can also encourage people to come over!

      2. I am indeed planning a practice run this weekend. I do have table cloths and some nice boxes/baskets to stage it too πŸ™‚ the sweets is a fab idea!! Thanks Lucie. I have also roped a few friends and family into coming as a show of support.

Leave a Reply

